New Microsoft Certification Paths

The New Generation of Microsoft Certifications

The new generation of Microsoft certifications is more specific and targeted to reflect the detail of what you do and to prove your expertise to those who need to know.

Consisting of three series and four credentials, the new generation of Microsoft certifications provides a simpler and more targeted framework for IT managers to validate core technical skills, professional skills, and architectural skills. It also provides professionals in the IT industry with a more relevant, flexible, and cost- effective way to showcase their skills.

Microsoft Certified Professional (MCP)
The Microsoft Certified Professional (MCP) certification enables you to establish industry recognition of your technical proficiency and expertise, and build a foundation for other Microsoft certifications.
IT professionals who have the skills to successfully implement a Microsoft product or technology as part of a business solution in an organization.
Hands-on experience with the product or technology is necessary to pass an exam.
not including upgrade paths
One Microsoft certification exam



The Architect Series:

Exemplary Business IT Skills and a Proven Ability to Deliver Business Solutions

The Microsoft Certified Architect Program identifies top industry experts in IT architecture. These prestigious professionals have a minimum of 10 years of advanced IT industry experience, have three or more years of experience as a practicing architect, possess strong technical and managerial skills, and form an elite community. Unlike other industry certifications, this credential was built and is granted by the architect community. Candidates must pass a rigorous review by the Review Board, which consists of previously certified peer architects.

The Architect Series certifications:

  • Have a rigorous and competitive entry process.
  • Require the candidate to work closely with a mentor who is a Microsoft
  • Certified Architect.
  • Culminate in an oral review in front of previously certified architects.
  • Require recertification.

The Technology Series:

Proven Core Technical Skills on Microsoft Technologies

The Technology Series certifications enable professionals to target specific technologies and distinguish themselves by demonstrating in-depth knowledge and expertise in the broad range of specialized technologies. Microsoft Technology Specialists are consistently capable of implementing, building, troubleshooting, and debugging a particular Microsoft technology.

The Technology Series certifications:

  • Typically consist of one to three exams.
  • Are focused on a key Microsoft product or technology.
  • Do not include job-role skills.
  • Will be retired when mainstream product support for the particular technology expires.

There are currently eight Microsoft Certified Technology Specialist certifications. More will become available as new technologies are introduced. The eight certifications are:

  • Technology Specialist: .NET Framework 2.0 Web Applications
  • Technology Specialist: .NET Framework 2.0 Windows Applications
  • Technology Specialist: .NET Framework 2.0 Distributed Applications
  • Technology Specialist: SQL Server 2005
  • Technology Specialist: BizTalk Server 2006
  • Technology Specialist: Microsoft Office Live Communications Server 2005
  • Technology Specialist: Microsoft Windows Mobile 5.0 Applications
  • Technology Specialist: SQL Server 2005 Business Intelligence

The Professional Series:

Professional Skills and a Proven Ability to Perform on the Job

Professional Series credentials validate a comprehensive set of skills required to be successful on the job. These skills include design, project management, operations management, and planning, and they are contextual to the job role. By validating a more comprehensive set of skills, these credentials give candidates and their hiring managers a reliable indicator of on-the-job performance.

The Professional Series certifications:

  • Typically consist of one to three exams.
  • Have one or more prerequisites from the Technology Series.
  • Are focused on single job role.
  • Require recertification to maintain active status.

Microsoft currently offers two Professional series credentials:

  • Microsoft Certified IT Professional
  • Microsoft Certified Professional Developer